Contagious Disciple Making is a book that leaves many people motivated to want to take the  Great Commission seriously. I mean, what Christian doesn’t want to be better equipped for  bringing people to Christ and seeing them become obedient followers of Jesus? Isn’t that the goal  for all of us?

And David & Paul Watson have done an excellent job laying out detailed how-to’s when it comes to  engaging our friends, family and neighbors with the message and gospel of Jesus Christ.

There’s no denying that their methods work because of the success they have seen in their lives and their ministry. However that doesn’t mean that their methods will work for everyone.

I am leery of how-to’s and step by step methodology when it comes to the realm of areas that should be guided by the Holy Spirit. Not that there’s anything wrong with their method but it shouldn’t be limited to what has worked for them.

And so while I have agreed with many parts of this book there are some parts I disagree with.

My agreements with this book are agreements that every Christian should hold to – mainly that true disciples make disciples and everything must be rooted in prayer.

But when it comes to things I disagree with, they are mere methods and not doctrines.

Overall this book is a helpful resource in engaging someone to be a disciple maker instead of a pew sitter and this book would be useful for reference when engaging new Christians.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

