_200_360_Book.1594.coverI don’t know of anyone who hasn’t heard of Duck Dynasty or Duck Commander. Because of the enormous amount of publicity and the sheer success of the show on A&E’s network, it’s almost impossible to go anywhere and not see the products that promote their success.

But there success today is only part of the story. I have read all of the other books by the individuals that make up the Robertson clan and was eager to read the next installment in Jep and Jessica’s story.

What I like about the books that the Robertson’s put out, is that they don’t sugar coat anything and they’re not afraid to pull back the curtain and let you see the whole story. There’s an authenticity that isn’t seen much in today’s culture.

In “The Good, the Bad, and the Grace of God” Jep and Jessica Robertson share their struggles, their past sin as well as their success in a way that doesn’t glorify the acts but give glory to God’s mercy and grace.

There were several times in reading about Jessica’s struggle with significance and Jep’s struggle with addiction that I thought to myself, “I don’t think I would have told that.”

But all in all, if you have read any of the other books put out by the Robertson’s, this book stays true to the same format and is told with the same gut-level honesty.

As with the rest of the Robertson’s, Jep & Jessica’s story is a beautiful reminder of who God is and what He is able to do, if we’re willing to follow Him.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

2 responses »

  1. Slam Dunks says:

    I have been impressed with the family’s sincerity as well. It takes lots of courage to stand with Jesus Christ in contemporary society–even more so discussing personal shortcomings in terms of being a Believer.

    Just got back from a couple of weeks in your fine state. I hope things are well for you and your family.

    • Chuck Mullis says:

      Doing Well. Hope all is well with you. I’m looking forward to another round of fantasy football!

Leave a Reply

