The Last Con is one of those books that’s hard to put down once you begin reading it.  When Fletcher Doyle is released from prison for trying to steal an ancient artifact, it appears that His life is finally coming together. After seven years of being apart from his family he tries to reconnect with them on a mission trip with their church. While running an errand to pick up some toiletries for his family he runs into his old partner in crime. Against his will and against his better judgment, Fletcher is forced_200_360_Book.1622.cover to choose between his family and returning to his former lifestyle as a grifter. What ensues is a story that is rich in history, suspense and intrigue.

Zach Bartels has done a masterful job at character development in this book. Each character is a story of their own and the intertwining of these characters is done in a believable way. To say that I enjoyed this book would be an understatement. I kept telling myself “one more chapter.”  I have not read Zach Bartels first book “Playing Saint” prior to reading this but it’s next on my list.

If you like mystery, suspense, action and a cast of interesting characters, don’t miss the opportunity to read this book.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About Chuck Mullis

I am the husband of Valerie and the father of Russell & Hannah. I am a self-employed contractor living in rural North Carolina as well as an ordained Southern Baptist Minister serving Living Water Baptist Church.

Leave a Reply

